|192nd Ohio Infantry National Colors
192nd Ohio Infantry
This regiment was organized at Camp Chase, Ohio,
March 9, 1865, under Colonel F.W. Butterfield, to serve one year.
Most enlistees came from the following Ohio counties:
Allen, Huron, Hardin, Richland, Hancock, Van Wert, Highland, Hamilton, and Licking. The men in the regiment were to serve
a one-year term of enlistment.
The regiment started for the field March 12th,
arriving at Halltown, Va., near Harpers Ferry, March 16, and reported to General John R Brook, commanding Provisional Division.
While stationed here, the regiment experienced some light skirmishing while stationed at Halltown, where one man was killed
Attached to 2nd Brigade, 1st Provisional Division,
Army of the Shenandoah, March 20.
On the 21st of March the Division broke camp and
marched through Charlestown, encamping about one mile beyond. On the 3rd of April the One Hundred and Ninety Second moved
at daylight, under orders to relieve a regiment picketing the Shenandoah River for three or four miles above and below Kabeltown
and about ten miles from the camp of the Division
Transferred to 2nd (Ohio) Brigade, 2nd Provisional
Division, March 27.
April 4, under orders for concentration of troops
at Winchester for movement upon Lynchburg, the line on the river was abandoned, and the troops moved to Winchester via Berryville,
arriving there April 5th.
The One Hundred and Ninety Second was stationed
some time at Stephenson's Station and afterward at Jordan Springs. It was then ordered to Reed's Hill, May 23d, where it served
on garrison duty, until August 25, forty-six miles above Winchester, at which place the Regiment advanced to then encamped
until ordered to be mustered out, except two companies, which were stationed at Harrisonburg, twenty-five miles above.
The Regiment mustered out September 1, 1865, at
Winchester, in accordance with orders from the War Department. The 192nd Regiment then went to Columbus, Ohio, arriving on
September 3, 1865. The regiment was disbanded three days later.
This Regiment stood high for drill and discipline.
Regiment lost during service 1 Enlisted man killed and
26 Enlisted men by disease. Total 27.
A little known story I found online at:
speaks of a tradgedy of two Confederate officers being executed by the 192nd
Summers-Koontz Monument Rededicated
A monument to honor two Confederate soldiers executed by Union troops after the surrender
at Appomattox was rededicated today on a hillside just north of New Market, Va., as a color guard dressed in gray held flapping
flags and taps was played.
In the world of Civil War monuments, this nine-foot-tall, weathered, white marble
obelisk is unusual because it marks the site not of a battle or a hospital but a small patch of ground where two Confederate
soldiers were shot to death for the crime of stealing horses. The twist is that they had already returned the horses and had
received a pardon.
The story of the deaths of Capt. George W. Summers and Sgt. Isaac Newton Koontz is
well known among older residents of the northern part of the Shenandoah Valley, kept alive by numerous recitations of the
event. One of the two Sons of Confederate Veterans camps hosting the ceremony is named for the men: Summers-Koontz Camp No.
490, Luray. The other is named for the veteran who led the movement to build the memorial in 1893: Captain Jack Adams No.
1951, Mt. Jackson, Va.
The story is told of Summers and Koontz and two other young soldiers returning home
to Luray, Va., after the surrender at Appomattox, where their unit, Co. D of the 7th Virginia Cavalry, was disbanded rather
than join in the surrender. The four knew they had to take the oath of allegiance to the United State government in order
to stay in the area, now occupied by Union troops. While en route to do that, the men came upon six Union cavalry men near
Woodstock. Words were exchanged, guns drawn and the occupiers were forced to give up their horses and possessions.
The local men turned around and went back home where their families were horrified
at what they had done, fearing the wrath of the Union army would come down on all of them. The horses were returned the next
day to the 192nd Ohio Volunteer Infantry at Rude's Hill by the young men, accompanied by older men of the community. Col.
Francis W. Butterfield met with the delegation and, according to the father of Summers, who had the same name, negotiations
were successful. The horses were returned and the Luray men, who were given receipts for the property returned, were told
the matter was closed. However, no account of the transaction was made in the official Ohio regiment logs.
Things get a bit hazy here but the belief is that a neighbor of the four Luray men,
a Unionist, got into a verbal fight with them and threatened to get revenge for their theft of the Union horses. Several days
later, Lt. Col. Cyrus Hussey, who was in charge of the Rude's Hill camp in the absence of Butterfield, issued an order for
the Luray men to be arrested and immediately executed for stealing the horses.
When the Union troops arrived in Luray on June 27, Jackson Kite and Dallas Koontz
escaped but Summers and Isaac Koontz were arrested. They were brought back to Rude's Hill where their story of returning the
horses and receiving a pardon was ignored. They were given time to write letters to their families before they were shot to
For decades, no one could visit the little monument in the farmer's field because
it was grazed by cows and protected by an electric fence. In 2004, the Shenandoah Valley Battlefields Foundation purchased
the land and with the assistance of the local Sons of Confederate Veterans camps and others, had the monument restored and
a pathway cut into the field. By Linda Wheeler | June 27, 2009; 5:18 PM ET
Inscription on a marker sign reads:
Inscription. On 22 May 1865, after the Civil War ended. Capt. George W. Summers,
Sgt. I. Newton Koontz, and two other armed veterans of Co. D, 7th Virginia Cavalry, robbed six Federal cavalrymen of their
horses near Woodstock. The horses were returned the next day to the 192d Ohio Volunteer Infantry at Rude’s Hill. Despite
assurances that all was forgiven, Lt. Col. Cyrus Hussy, temporarily commanding the 192nd, later ordered the men arrested.
The others escaped, but Summers and Koontz were shot without trial here on 27 June. Thirty years later, Capt. Thomas J. Adams
and friends erected the nearby monument to commemorate their deaths.
this was found at:
|Col. Eugene Powell
|National Colors of the 193 OVI
193rd Ohio Infantry
This Regiment was organized at Camp Chase, Ohio, March 13, 1865, to serve one year
with 997 men, under Colonel Eugene Powell.
Immediately after its organization, the Regiment was ordered to start for Harper's Ferry, W. Va. in the Shenandoah Valley
where it was assigned to Second Brigade, Second Division, Army of the Shenandoah.
It moved from Harper's Ferry to Halltown and Charlestown March 21, and duty there till April 4., and at the latter place
was partially organized, with other regiments, into brigades and divisions.
Assigned to 2nd Brigade, 1st Provisional Division, Army of the Shenandoah, March 20.
Transferred to 2nd Brigade, 2nd Provisional Division, March 27.
From Charlestown, on April 4th the Regiment marched up the Shenandoah Valley, to Winchester, where it remained until
August after the surrender of the Rebel Armies.
Served on guard and garrison duty in the valley until mustered out, at Winchester, August 4, 1865, in accordance with
orders from the War Department with 842 men, Colonel Powell still commanding.
Regiment lost during service 29 Enlisted men by disease.